Monday, August 25, 2014

Teri Harman, author of Blood Moon



Author Bio:
Teri Harman is an author of magic and wonder. Her debut novel, BLOOD MOON, a witch fantasy is now available. The sequel, BLACK MOON, hits shelves fall 2014 and her gothic romance, A PAINTED LIFE, early 2015. Currently, her bookshelf is overflowing, her laundry unfolded, and her three small children running mad while she pens bewitching novels. She also writes a book column for ksl.com, and contributes regular book segments to Studio 5, KSL’s popular lifestyle television show.  

Title: Blood Moon
Author: Teri Harman
ISBN: 13:978-1-939967-00-8
Page count: 320
Genre: Fantasy/Juvenile Fiction
Price: $14.99

Tell us about your book:
BLOOD MOON and its sequels BLACK MOON and STORM MOON are thrilling, alluring explorations of witchcraft based in natural magic. Or the belief that every rock, tree, plant, herb, and drop of water has magical properties. As Willa and Simon, the main characters, struggle to deal with their newly discovered magic and their new relationship the past and present collide in unimaginable ways. Fans of A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES and WITCHES OF EAST END should enjoy the Moonlight Trilogy.

How long did it take to write the book?
It took me about eight months to write the first draft. I continued to revise it as I submitted it to agents and publishers over the next two years.

What inspired you to write the book?
Funny enough, a Halloween party. Every year I throw a witch-themed party for the women in my family. In 2010, I found a killer location: The Fairfield Schoolhouse at Camp Floyd State Park, Utah. It’s one hundred years old and has great atmosphere. With this great location, I needed the party to match, so I started doing some casual research into witches to get ideas for d├ęcor, games, food, etc. I stumbled on an off-shot of Wicca – Natural Magic – and was fascinated. I kept reading and finally my husband suggested I write a book.

Talk about the writing process. Did you have a writing routine? Did you do any research, and if so, what did that involve?
Yes, as much as a mother of three young kids can, I have a routine. I write in some way every day. I write at my desk in our bedroom so I have a little privacy but can still hear and see what’s going on with the kids. I write on a MacBook Air with a large monitor attached. I keep notebooks. One general writing notebook for ideas, words, characters names, etc. and also a notebook for each book. It’s the only way I can keep track of all the details.

The research I did for the Moonlight Trilogy involved reading books on Wicca and Natural Magic. Each one is marked up, dog-eared, and close at hand while I write.

What do you hope your readers come away with after reading your book?
Most of all, I hope readers have fun when they read my books. Reading should be an escape – an adventure. I hope they love my characters and story and think about them after the last page.

Excerpt from book:
From Blood Moon:
White lines spread across the sky like cracks in dried mud, as bright and terrifying as lightning, and moving alarmingly fast. Then, like a million mirrors dropping onto a stone floor, the sky shattered, snapped and fell apart. Sharp shards, as bright and silvery as glass, tumbled down toward the earth. All around her the shards struck the ground, slicing and stabbing. Some were as big as a house while others as small as raindrops.
            She spun around and peered into the cave. Simon was gone; her chest tightened with fear and pain.
            Thud thud thud.
            The shards fell faster. As Willa struggled to her feet, scrambling to get out of the way, one of the pieces of sky tore a deep gash in her forearm. The pain pushed her onward, her need for shelter overwhelming her horrified fascination. She searched frantically for a place to hide and found a small opening in an outcropping of rock coming off the cave.
            She put her head down and ran, the shards slicing and bruising her. The dark area between two large boulders winked at her. She skidded to a stop, slamming into the rocks, before dropping to the ground to try and squeeze her battered body into the space. She managed to push her head, torso, and hips inside, almost safe, when a large dagger-shaped shard pierced her calf, slicing all the way through the muscle, pinning her to the ground.


Where can we go to buy your book?
My books are available everywhere, in stores and on-line.

Any other links or info you'd like to share?
Blog: http://www.teriharman.com/
Instagram: @teriharman
Twitter: @TeriHarman, https://twitter.com/TeriHarman

Book Trailer Link:
http://youtu.be/3axG-GlAegs

Teri Harman will be one of the Featured Guest Authors speaking at the 2014 St. George Book Festival. To learn more and see a full list of events, visit http://stgeorgebookfestival.org

No comments:

Post a Comment